Conservation Commission

The Conservation Commission conducts research into its local land and water areas and seeks to coordinate the activities of other bodies organized for similar purposes. It keeps a list of open space and natural, aesthetic or ecological areas within the City, with the plan of obtaining information pertinent to proper utilization of such areas, including lands owned by the state or lands owned by the City. It keeps a list of marshlands, swamps and other wet lands in a like manner, and may recommend to the City Council or selectmen or to the department of resources and economic development a program for the protection, development or better utilization of all such areas.

RSA 36- A:3  Mayor nominates subject to provisions of City Charter; Ordinance 3.9

Mayor nominates subject to confirmation by Council; after Mayor nominates, any Councilor can nominate.  Ballot required; 3 Year Terms.

The Conservation Commission shall consist of seven (7) members, one of whom may be a member of the Planning Board. Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor in accordance with the provisions of Section 74 Of the Rochester City Charter for terms of three years. The terms of members of the Commission shall be so arranged that two regular members of said Commission shall be appointed annually and a chairman shall be appointed every third year by the Mayor. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired terms. One alternate member of the Commission shall be appointed in the same manner as regular members of the Commission for a term of three years, and when such alternate serves in the absence or disqualification of a regular member, he shall have full voting powers."

Vacancies filled in accordance with Chapter 13.4-13.7 of General Ordinance.

Commission Members

Name Title
Michael Dionne Chair (01/02/2017)
Vacant Position Member (01/02/2016)
Mark Jennings Member (01/02/2016)
Meredeth (Merry) S. Lineweber Member (01/02/2015)
Kevin Sullivan Member (01/02/2018)
Jack Hackett Member (01/02/2017)
Mike Kirwan Member (01/02/2017)
Barbara Soley Alternate Member (01/02/2020)