City Council appoints David E. Walker to be the next Deputy Mayor

With former Mayor Caroline McCarley’s retirement in late June, Deputy Mayor and Ward 2 councilor Elaine Lauterborn was officially sworn in as Mayor on July 1st, creating a vacancy on the council and for the position of Deputy Mayor.  

During the Council’s regular meeting on July 6th, Councilor Bogan officially nominated David E. Walker for the position of Deputy Mayor. Councilor Rice nominated Peter Lachapelle.

Before the ballots were tallied, Mayor Lauterborn expressed that she looks forward to working with either nominee based on their respective years of service to the City of Rochester. 

“We have had the good fortune to have two names put forward to serve as Deputy Mayor,” said Lauterborn. “I’m going to need the support of both of these very experienced councilors going forward.”

The Council ultimately appointed Walker (Ward 4/Seat A) to be the next Deputy Mayor. In addition to City Council, Walker currently serves on the Finance Committee, Public Works & Building Committee, and Planning Board. 

The City Clerk immediately announced the Ward 2/Seat A Council vacancy following the meeting. 

Any registered voter that would like to represent Ward 2 on the City Council is encouraged to submit a Statement of Interest to the City Clerk’s Office as soon as possible. The Statement of Interest form is available at the City Clerk’s Office (31 Wakefield Street) and on the City’s website. 

All qualified candidates are encouraged to attend the City Council Workshop on July 20th in order to participate in an open interview directly with the City Council. 

Contact the City Clerk at (603) 332-2130 for inquiries and additional information.